Bright Health保險透明度。

政策的條款與細則可能會受到您所在州的適用規定或法律影響。請參閱您的政策以了解更多資訊。

涵蓋主題包括:

使用網外服務之責任和餘額結算。被保人申報費用。保費寬限期和待決的費用申報。追溯遭拒。多付款項退費。醫療必需性和預先授權所需時長,以及被保人的責任。例外處方藥核准時長,以及被保人的責任。福利說明 (EOB)。協調福利。

使用網外服務之責任和餘額結算。

除非是接受急救醫療服務或是在網內設施接受輔助性服務供應商之服務,否則接受非網內服務提供者服務將無法獲得福利。網外急救服務的支付費用可能會受計劃的允許額度限制。

除非是在合理的就診及供應標準下,Bright HealthCare網內的簽約服務提供者無法滿足被保人健康需求,並獲得我們的預先授權,否則本計劃不承保由非網內服務提供者進行的非急救服務。

除此之外,您可能必須自己支付計劃允許額度和服務提供者帳單之間的差額。這稱之為「餘額結算」(Balance Billing)。餘額結算指的是非網絡服務提供者的收費和您的計劃之服務允許額度之間的差額。

舉例來說,如果非網絡服務提供者的收費是$150,而Bright HealthCare的允許額度是$100,服務提供者可能會向您收取$50的差額。

特約服務提供者可能不會向您收取他們的收費和Bright HealthCare的協商費率之間的差額。

您可能不必支付在非網內設施接受急救服務的餘額結算。

這項條款的限制可能會根據適用的州法有所變動。請參閱您的政策以了解更多資訊。

被保人申報費用。

當我們收到費用申報表格請求或是費用申報通知時,我們會提供申報人或保單持有人必須填寫的費用申報表格。如果申報人沒有在計劃收到費用申報通知或費用申報表格請求後15天內收到這些費用申報表格,我們將視申報人符合損失證明要求。國外費用申報務必在提交給計劃要求償付之前先將費用轉換為美元。

非網內或非特約服務提供者的承保健康服務費用申報必須在從服務當日起算一年(365天)內提交給我們。如果服務提供者沒有為您提出費用申報,您有責任在申報時間截止前提出費用申報,申報時間截止後才提交的費用申報不符合福利償付或報銷費用資格。如果我們因為需要額外的資料而將費用申報退件給您,您必須在收到該請求後90天內再次提交該申報並附上我們要求的資料。

費用申報所需資訊

當您向我們請求福利償付時,您必須提供下列所有資訊給我們:

• 接受服務的日期。

• 受傷或疾病開始日期。

• 醫生開出的ICD-10診斷代碼。

• 您的ID卡上的ID號碼。

• 您的服務提供者發出的帳單明細,包括每一筆收費的當前診治操作專用碼 (CPT)。

• 開立醫囑/轉診醫生的姓名和地址(如有)。

• 該項服務提供者的姓名、地址、稅務ID和執業機構國家提供者識別碼 (NPI)。

• 病患的名字和出生日期。

• 說明您是否投保了任何其他健康保險計劃的聲明。如果您投保了其他計劃,您必須提供其他保險業者的名稱以及您的其他計劃ID卡號碼。

• 投保人的姓名和地址。

北卡羅萊納州:

非網內或非特約服務提供者的承保健康服務之費用申報必須在護理服務提供者為病患提供護理當日起算180天內提交給我們;若是護理服務提供者申報設施費用,則必需在從該設施出院當日起算的180天內。如果申報人無法在規定時間內提出費用申報,並不會使任何費用申報無效或減少任何費用申報,前提是申報人在合理的情況下無法在規定時間內提交費用申報,且已按照合理的速度盡早提交;並且,在任何情況下,除非被保人沒有法律行為能力,自要求提交費用申報之日起一年後提出的申請均屬無效。

請將費用申報提交至:

Bright Health Insurance Company
P.O. Box 16275
Reading, PA 19612

請在此下載Bright HealthCare會員費用申報表格。

請在此下載Bright HealthCare商業處方藥報銷費用申請表格

保費寬限期和費用申報待決。

什麼是保費寬限期?

保費寬限期是一個指定時段,從每月保費到期日後立即開始。在保費寬限期的第一個月,我們會為被保人所接受之服務支付所有適用的費用申請;在保費寬限期的第二和第三個月,我們可能會保留被保人所接受之服務的費用申請為待決。如果您在保費寬限期內支付了您的保費,則您的保險將繼續有效。如果您沒有在保費寬限期內支付保費,則您的保險將被終止。

接受聯邦保險補貼的個人可獲得3個月的保費寬限期,並在這段期間內支付所有未支付的保費。如果沒有在保費寬限期內付清未支付保費的全部餘額,保險將在保費寬限期的第一個日曆月的最後一天中止。未獲補貼的會員可獲得31天的保費寬限期,並在這段期間內支付所有未支付的保費。如果沒有在保費寬限期內付清未支付保費的全部餘額,保險將在您已支付保費的承保期最後一天中止。我們會在取消您的政策之前提供未清償款項通知。我們不會支付您在保險中止當日或之後接受的任何服務。

什麼是待決的費用申報?

待決的費用申報是處於「等候」或「待決」狀態的費用申報。這表示在採取特定行動之前,不會支付或否決這筆費用申報。

追溯遭拒。

追溯拒絕指的是撤銷原先已給付的費用申報,因此被保人必須負責支付這筆款項。即使在被保人已從服務提供者處接受服務之後,費用申報仍有可能被追溯拒絕。請盡可能遵循以下方法來避免追溯拒絕:

  • 準時繳付您的每月保費​​​​​​​
  • 接受服務時請出示您的ID卡,並確認您的服務提供者有您目前的保險資訊。
  • 如果計劃要求,請使用網內服務
  • 如果計劃要求,請取得預先授權

費用申報遭到追溯拒絕時,請這麼做:

  • 請在您的保單中查找如何上訴的資訊

多付款項退費。

如果我支付了過多的保險費用,如何取得退費?

如果您支付的保費過多,您可能有資格取得退費。我們會幫助您取得退費。請撥打ID卡背面的電話號碼,告訴我們您對支付保費和退費可能的相關疑問。

醫療必需性及預先授權時間與被保人的責任

在您接受計劃承保的某些服務之前,可能需要就其醫療必需性通過預先授權和審查。醫療必需性是指按照實證臨床照護標準被視為合理、必要和適當的照護。

預先授權是指在您接受某些健康護理服務之前,我們就醫療必需性和網絡附屬關係審查該服務請求的過程。

取得預先授權是誰的責任?

如果您是從網內服務提供者處取得照護,該網內服務提供者在對您提供服務之前必須負責取得預先授權。如果該服務提供者無法取得預先授權而服務被拒絕,則他/她可能無法就差額向您開立帳單。

如果您是從您的服務區外或是非網內服務提供者處取得照護,您必須負責確認取得預先授權。服務相關資料可能要由您或非網內服務提供者來提供。

如果無法取得預先授權,您可能必須支付全額的費用。您可在投保之後取得的ID卡上找到申請預先授權的電話。請參閱在您投保後收到的具體承保資料。

​​​​​​​預先授權所需時長。

預先授權審查過程需要請求授權醫生的全面合作,以利我們評估所有相關資料並做出承保決定。我們必須在收到預先授權請求和醫生報告的15個日曆天內做出決定。如果您或您的醫生認為您的健康狀況會因為等候15個日曆天而嚴重惡化,您可以請求急件處理。如果您的急件請求獲准,我們必須在收到您醫生的證明後72個小時內給您回覆。

處方藥例外核准時長,以及被保人的責任。

我們的會員有時需要取得計劃處方集(藥品清單)上沒有列出的藥物。在特定情況下、緊急狀況中,或特殊情形下,我們會核准這些例外藥物。

例外藥物或非處方集藥物請求必須先通過由我們主持的處方集例外藥物審核程序。您的開立處方者或醫生和藥房人員必須提供特定資料以利我們審核例外請求。您的開立處方者或藥房人員可以將承保裁定請求表傳真給我們,以提交請求。

如果藥物請求被拒絕,您將收到書面申訴程序通知,您也可以在您的承保證明政策文件中搜尋關於申請處方藥例外程序的資料。

如有緊急情況必需請求加急審核,請勾選請求表中的「加急/緊急」欄。

如果計劃不承保您的藥物,或是對您的藥物設有您認為不適用於您的規定或限制,您可以採取下列行動之一:

  • 詢問您的護理服務提供者是否可改用其他適合您的承保藥物;或是
  • 您的護理服務提供者可以請求計劃做出「例外」來承保該藥物或是移除藥物限制。

以下為例外情況的一些例子:

  • 一般承保的藥物已對您造成不良反應;
  • 您有理由相信一般承保的藥物會對您造成不良反應;或是
  • 您的合格護理服務提供者開立的藥物對您較一般承保的藥物有效。

名牌藥的例外情形可能因為無法取得價格較低的等效替代藥物而予以核准。如果可取得價格較低的等效名牌藥、普通藥或生物相似藥作為首選藥物,則只承保首選藥物。

處方集例外藥物程序會排除經我們的藥物和治療委員會裁定效力不佳的藥物。

處方集例外藥物程序和承保範圍會排除尚未經我們的藥物和治療委員會審核之市面新藥,直到藥物和治療委員會就其安全性、效力和特殊性完成審核為止。

該藥物必須屬於承保的藥物類別。如需更多不含在計劃處方集中的例外處方藥審核程序相關資訊,請撥打ID卡上的藥房客戶服務電話。

對標準例外請求,我們必須在收到例外請求後72個小時內做出決定並知會您及開立處方的醫生。如果我們核准標準例外請求,我們必須在處方有效時長內承保該非處方集藥物,包括續藥在內。

加急例外請求適用於緊急情況,意思是需要使用該請求藥物的病患患有可能嚴重危害其生命、健康、恢復至最大可能限度之身體機能的健康問題,或是該病患目前正在使用非處方集藥物進行治療療程。

對加急例外請求,我們必須在收到例外請求後24個小時內做出決定並知會您及開立處方的醫生。

如果我們核准例外請求,我們將承保該藥物直到授權到期為止。

如果您認為我們拒絕非處方集藥物請求的決定不正確,您可以請求我們將該案件提交給被稱為「獨立審查組織」(IRO) 的中立第三方審查者進行外部審查。我們必須遵循IRO的決定。IRO審查必須由會員、會員代表或開立處方的服務提供者透過郵件、電話或傳真外部審查請求來提出請求。您可以在您的保單中查找如何請求外部審查的資料,或是撥打ID卡上的電話與我們聯絡,或是登入會員中心 (brighthealthcare.com/member)。

遭拒的標準例外藥物請求審查之審查時長為從我們收到請求起算72個小時內。

遭拒的加急例外藥物請求審查之審查時長為從我們收到請求起算24個小時內。如需為緊急情況請求加急審查,請勾選請求表中的「請求加急審查」選項。

如需更多不含在計劃處方集中的例外處方藥審核程序相關資料,請撥打ID卡上的藥房客戶服務電話。

福利說明 (EOB)

福利說明 (EOB) 是發行者寄送給被保人的一份聲明,其中解釋保險代表被保人支付哪些醫療和/或服務、發行者的付款以及被保人根據保單條款有哪些財務責任。

我如何得知保險計劃是否支付了我的費用申報?

您的醫生診所會在您接受照護後寄送一份費用申報給我們。如果您的服務提供者沒有代表您提交費用申請,您必須寄送填寫完整的費用申請表以及帳單明細到ID卡上的地址。

我們會在處理費用申報之後向您提供一份福利說明 (EOB)。我們寄送這份說明的目的是解釋我們支付了哪些治療和/或服務。它可以告訴您我們如何支付您的費用申請,包括支付的金額和支付的對象,清晰易懂,所以您可以了解哪些已提交、哪些已支付,以及您積欠的金額。您也可以前往:www.brighthealthcare.com在網上查看福利說明。

協調福利。

請注意:Bright Health of North Carolina出售的個人計劃無法使用協調福利。下文不適用於Bright Health of North Carolina出售的計劃。

協調福利何時適用?

如果被保人在一個以上的計劃下均承保健康保證(如下所述),則適用本協調福利 (COB) 條款。

協調福利的一個重要部分是決定由哪個計劃來提供福利的順序。第一個提供福利的計劃稱作主要計劃。主要計劃提供其完整福利,如同被保人沒有其他計劃。其他計劃則居於第二順位。

定義

有關本節的目的,請參見以下的術語定義:

封閉式小組計劃 -是指主要透過與該計劃簽約或受僱於該計劃的服務提供者網絡以服務形式向被保險人提供醫療保健福利的計劃,但不包括網外服務提供者服務的福利,惟緊急狀況或計劃預先授權的服務除外。

監護家長 - 是指由法院判決授予監護權的家長,如沒有法院判決時,則是與兒童同住半個日曆年以上(不包括任何臨時探視)的家長。

計劃 - 是指因為醫療、藥房或牙科護理或治療所提供的以下任何一項的福利或服務。如果使用單獨的合約為團體成員提供協調保險時,則此單獨的合約將被視為同一計劃的一部分,同時在這些單獨的合約中沒有協調福利 (COB)。

  • 計劃包括:團體保險及非團體保險合約、健康維護組織 (HMO) 合約、封閉式小組計劃或其他形式團體或團體類型的保險(無論是否有無保險);長期護理合約中的醫療保健部分,例如專業護理;團體或個人汽車合約下的醫療福利,以及聯邦醫療保險或其他如法律所允許的任何聯邦政府計劃。
  • 計劃不包括:住院賠償範圍保險或其他固定賠償保險;僅交通事故保險;特定疾病或特定意外保險;由州法規定的有限福利健康保險;學生意外類型保險;長期護理保單的非醫療部分的福利;聯邦醫療保險補充性保單,醫療補助計劃保單;或其他聯邦政府計劃下的保險,除非是法律所允許。

主要計劃 - 第一順位付款的計劃稱為主要計劃。主要計劃必須按照其保單條款支付福利費用而不得考慮另外一個計劃可能會支付某些費用。

次要計劃 -在支付了主要計劃之後才付款的計劃稱為次要計劃。次要計劃可降低所支付的福利,以便所有計劃的付款不會超過所允許總額度的100%。

福利順序決定規則

當被保人有一個以上的計劃的健康保健保險時,福利順序決定規則決定計劃是主要或次要。

當這個計劃是主要計劃時,它首先決定支付的福利。當這個計劃是次要時,在另外計劃決定之後,它才決定支付的福利,並且可降低所支付的福利以便所有的計劃福利不會超過所允許支付金額的100%。

決定福利支付的順序

當被保人投保兩個或兩個以上的計劃時,決定支付福利順序的規則如下:

A.主要計劃根據其承保條款支付或提供福利,而不考慮任何其他計劃下的福利。

B. 除非在下一個段落中提供之外,否則不包括與本條款一致的COB條款的計劃便可被視為主要計劃,除非兩個計劃都表示符合計劃要求的即為主要計劃。透過成為某個團體會員而取得的目的為補充基本福利的保險,前提是這個追加保險應超過合約承包商提供的計劃的任何其他部分。這些情況類型的例子包括加諸在基本計劃住院與手術福利的主要醫療保險,以及為了提供網外福利的與封閉式小組計劃相關而書寫的保險承保範圍。

C. 計劃在決定其福利時可考慮已支付的福利或由另外一個計劃提供的福利,先決條件是此計劃必須是另外這個計劃的次計劃時才可考慮。

D. 每個計劃都使用以下規則中第一個適用的規則來決定其福利順序:

  • 非家屬或家屬。所保險的對象是家屬以外的人士身份(例如員工、會員、保單持有人、投保人或退休人員)的計劃是主要計劃。保險的對象是家屬身份的計劃是次要計劃。然而,如果此個人是聯邦醫療保險的受益人,因而根據聯邦法,聯邦醫療保險將是承保該家屬的計劃的次要計劃;承保的對象為家屬以外(例如退休員工)的人士的計劃時是此計劃的主要計劃;則兩個計劃之間的福利順序將對調,如此保險對象為員工、會員、保單持有人、投保人或退休人士的計劃變成次要計劃,而另外的計劃則成為主要計劃。
  • 受撫養兒童有超過一個以上的保險計劃。除非法庭庭令另有聲明,否則承保受撫養兒童的計劃應根據以下決定福利的順序:
    • 對於父母為婚姻或同居關係的受撫養兒童,無論是否曾經結婚:
      • 父母中凡是在日曆年的生日較早者,其計劃即是主要計劃;或
      • 如果父母雙方的生日是同一天,則承保時間最長的一方的計劃即是主要計劃。
    • 對於父母離婚或分居或不住在一起(無論雙方是否曾經結婚)的受撫養兒童:
      • 如果法庭庭令裁定,家長之一負責撫養子女的醫療保健費用或醫療保險且此位家長的計劃知道這些條款時,則這個計劃就是主要計劃。如果肩負責任的家長沒有為撫養子女承保醫療保險而無法支付醫療費用,但此位家長的配偶、同居人或法定同居人有,則此位家長的配偶、同居人或法定同居人的計劃便是主要計劃。 但這不適用於在實體實際知道法庭庭令規定之前支付或提供福利的任何計劃年度。
      • 如果法庭庭令裁定父母雙方都應負責撫養兒童的醫療保健費用或醫療保險,則上述次段落的條款a) 將決定福利順序。
      • 如果法庭庭令裁定父母雙方擁有共同監護權,且並未指定哪位負責撫養兒童的醫療保健費用或醫療保險時,則上述次段落中的 a)將決定福利順序。
      • 如果沒有法庭庭令裁示分配兒童的醫療保健費用或醫療保險時,則此位兒童的福利順序如下:
        • 承保具監護權的家長的計劃。
        • 承保具監護權的家長配偶、同居人或法定同居人的計劃。
        • 承保不具監護權的家長的計劃
        • 承保不具監護權的家長配偶、同居人或法定同居人的計劃
      • 對於受撫養兒童由某人的一個以上的計劃所承保,且此個人並非為兒童的家長時,福利順序(如果適用)應如同是兒童的家長一般,根據上述次段落的 a) 或 b) 確定。
      • (i) 受撫養兒童是附加在父母雙方或單方的計劃下並且父母一方是因為配偶計劃下的家屬身份而擁有自己的保險時,則適用段落 (2) 的規則。
      • (ii) 如果配偶計劃下的受撫養兒童的保險與受撫養兒童在父母一方或雙方計劃下的承保開始日期相同,則應透過將 (a) 次段落中的生日規則應用於受撫養兒童的父母及受撫養人的配偶。

在職員工或已退休或遭遣散的員工

凡被保對象目前是在職員工(即員工並未遭遣散或未退休)則這個計劃就是主要計劃。如果對象是在職員工的家屬且此人也是退休人士或遭遣散人士的家屬,則也適用同樣的規則。如果另外的計劃並沒有這條規則,而造成此計劃的福利順序不一致時,則此規則將可略過。如果D.1的規則可確定福利順序時,則此規則將不適用。

統一綜合預算協調方案 (COBRA) 又稱州延續保險

如果某人的保險是由COBRA提供或州政府或聯邦政府所提供的另一個繼續享用權利是由另一個計劃所承保,則此人以員工、會員、投保人或退休人士的身份投保的計劃為主要計劃,而COBRA或州或其他聯邦持續保險就是次計劃。如果另外的計劃沒有這條規則,而造成此計劃的福利順序不一致時,則將略過此規則。如果D.1的規則可確定福利順序,則此規則便不適用。

較長或較短的承保期限

對於承保對象的承保時間較長的計劃即是主要計劃,較短時間的計劃就是次計劃。

如果前面的規則無法確定福利順序,則「可允許的費用」將在符合計劃定義的計劃之間平均分攤。此外,若此計劃為主要計劃,則其支付的費用不會超過應支付的費用。

其他保險承保:當其他計劃也是Bright Health的計劃時。

如果您同時有多個我們的合格健康保險計劃,您只能接受一個計劃的福利。您可以選擇您要在哪個計劃下接受承保。我們會退還從其他計劃收到的任何保費。我們已為您選擇取消的計劃支付的任何申報費用都將從這類保費退費中扣除。

Bright Health Transparency of Coverage.

Terms and Conditions of your policy may be affected by rules or laws applicable at the state level. Please refer to your policy for additional information.

Topics covered:

Out-of-Network Liability and Balance Billing. Enrollee Claim Submission. Grace Periods and Claims Pending. Retroactive Denials. Recoupment of Overpayments. Medical necessity and pre-authorization timeframes and enrollee responsibilities. Prescription drug exception timeframes and enrollee responsibilities. Explanation of benefits (EOB). Coordination of benefits.

Out-of-Network Liability and Balance Billing.

Benefits are not available when you use a Non-Network Provider except for emergency health services or services received from an ancillary provider at a network facility. Payment for Out-of-Network emergency services may be limited to the plan’s Allowable Amount.

This plan does not cover non-emergency services rendered by Non-Network Providers unless Pre-Authorized by Us, in the event the Bright HealthCare network of contracted providers are unable to meet the health needs of Our enrollees according to reasonable access and availability standards.

In addition, you may have to pay the difference between the plan’s allowable amount and the amount the provider bills. This is called Balance Billing. Balance Billing is the difference between the Non-Network provider's charge and the Allowable Amount for the service(s) under your plan.

For example, if the Non-Network provider's charge is $150 and Bright HealthCare’s Allowable Amount is $100, the provider may bill you for the difference of $50.

A Participating Provider may not bill you for the difference between their charge and Bright HealthCare’s negotiated rate.

Balance billing may be waived for emergency services received at a Non-Network facility.

Limitations may vary due to applicable state laws, please refer to your policy for more information.

Enrollee Claim Submission.

When a request for a claim form or the notice of a claim is provided to Us, We will provide the claimant or policyholder the claim forms required for filing. If the claimant does not receive these claim forms within 15 days after the Plan receives notice of claim or the request for a claim form, the claimant will be considered to meet the proof of loss requirement. Foreign claims must be translated in U.S. currency prior to being submitted to the Plan for payment.

Claims for Covered Health Services from a Non-Network or Non-Participating Provider must be submitted to Us within one year (365 days) from the date of service. If the Provider does not file a claim for You, You are responsible for filing the claim within the deadline. Claims submitted after the deadline are not eligible for benefit payment or reimbursement. If a claim is returned to You because We need additional information, You must resubmit it with the information requested within 90 days of receipt of the request.

Required Claim Information

When You request payment of Benefits from Us, You must provide Us with all of the following information:

• Date services were received.

• Date the Injury or Sickness began.

• ICD-10 diagnosis code from the Physician.

• ID number on Your ID card.

• Itemized bill from Your Provider that includes the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes for each charge.

• Name and address of any ordering/referring Physician.

• Name, address, Tax ID, and NPI number of the Provider of the service(s).

• Patient's name and date of birth.

• Statement indicating that You either are or are not enrolled for coverage under any other health insurance plan or program. If You are enrolled for other coverage You must provide the name of the other carrier(s) and Your ID number for the other coverage.

• Subscriber's name and address.

North Carolina:

Claims for Covered Health Services from a Non-Network or Non-Participating Provider must be submitted to US within 180 days after the date of the provision of care to the patient by the health care provider and, in the case of health care provider facility claims, within 180 days after the date discharge from the facility. Failure to submit a claim within the time required does not invalidate or reduce any claim if it was not reasonably possible for the claimant to file the claim within that time, provided that the claim is submitted as soon as reasonably possible and in no event, except in the absence of legal capacity of the insured, later than one year from the time submittal of the claim is otherwise required.

Claims can be submitted to Us at:

Bright Health Insurance Company
P.O. Box 16275
Reading, PA 19612

Download our Bright HealthCare Member Claim Form here.

Download our Bright HealthCare Commercial Prescription Reimbursement Claim Form here.

Grace Periods and Claims Pending.

What is a grace period?

A grace period is a designated period of time immediately following the due date of your monthly premium. We will pay all appropriate claims for services rendered to the enrollee during the first month of the grace period and may pend claims for services rendered to the enrollee in the second and third months of the grace period. If your premium is paid during the grace period, coverage will remain in effect. If your premium is not paid during the grace period, coverage will terminate.

A Grace Period of 3 months for individuals receiving federal insurance subsidies will be allowed for the payment of all outstanding premiums. If the full balance of outstanding premium is not paid within Your grace period, coverage will end on the last day of the first calendar month of the grace period. For non-subsidized Members, a 31-day grace period will be allowed for the payment of all outstanding premiums. If the full balance of outstanding premium is not paid within Your grace period, coverage will end on the last day for which You have paid Your premium. We will provide You notice of Your nonpayment before cancelling Your Policy. We will not pay for any services received on or after the date Your coverage ends.

What is a pending claim?

A pending claim is a claim that remains in a “hold” or “pending” status. This means the claim will not be paid or denied until specific action is taken.

Retroactive Denials.

A retroactive denial is the reversal of a previously paid claim, through which the enrollee then becomes responsible for payment. Claims may be denied retroactively, even after the enrollee has obtained services from the provider. Ways to prevent retroactive denials, when possible:

  • Pay your monthly premium on time
  • Present your ID card when you receive services. Make sure your provider has your current insurance information.
  • Stay in-network, if required by the plan
  • Get prior authorization, if required by the plan

What to do if your claim is retroactively denied:

  • You will find information about how to appeal in your policy

Recoupment of Overpayments.

How to get a refund if you paid too much for your insurance?

If you overpaid your insurance premium you may qualify for a refund. If you think you overpaid, We can help you. Please call the number on the back of your ID card with questions about your premium payment and a possible refund.

Medical necessity and pre-authorization timeframes and enrollee responsibilities.

Some services covered by Your plan may require Prior Authorization and review for Medical Necessity before you receive care. Medical Necessity is used to describe care that is reasonable, necessary and appropriate based on evidence-based clinical standards of care.

Pre-authorization is the process of reviewing a request for health care services for Medical Necessity and network affiliation prior to You receiving those services.

Who is responsible for obtaining Pre-authorization?

If You are receiving care from a Network Provider, the Network Provider is responsible for obtaining Pre-authorization before they provide these services to You. If the Provider fails to obtain Pre-authorization and the service is denied, he or she may not balance bill You.

If You are receiving care outside of Your Service Area, or care from a Non-Network Provider, You are responsible for making sure that Pre-authorization is obtained. Information regarding services can come from the Non-Network Provider or from You.

Timeframe for Pre-Authorization.

The Pre-authorization review process requires the full cooperation of the requesting Physician in order for Us to evaluate all of the pertinent information and make a coverage determination. We must make Our decision within 15 calendar days of receiving the Prior Authorization request and Physician’s statement. You can request an expedited exception if you or your Physician believe that your health could be seriously harmed by waiting 15 calendar days for a decision. If your request to expedite is granted, We must give you a decision no later than 72 hours after We get the supporting statement from your Physician.

Prescription drug exception timeframes and enrollee responsibilities.

Sometimes our members need access to drugs that are not listed on the plan's formulary (drug list). Exceptions may be granted in certain circumstances or for emergency or special situations.

Exception or non-formulary requests are initially reviewed by us through the formulary exception review process. Your prescriber or doctor and pharmacy staff will need to provide certain information in order for Us to review an exception request . Your prescriber or pharmacy staff can submit the request to us by faxing the Coverage Determination Request Form.

If the drug is denied, you will be notified of your appeals process, in writing. You can also find information about the exceptions process for prescription drugs in your Certificate of Coverage policy document.

To request an expedited review for exigent circumstance, select the “Expedited/Urgent” box on the Request Form.

If the plan does not cover your medication or has restrictions or limits on your medication that You don’t think will work for You, You can do one of the following:

  • Ask Your health care provider if there is another covered medication that will work for You; or
  • Your health care provider can ask the plan to make an “exception” to cover a medication or to remove medication restrictions or limits.

Examples of exceptions are:

  • The medication that is normally covered has caused a harmful reaction to You;
  • There is a reason to believe the medication that is normally covered would cause a harmful reaction; or
  • The medication prescribed by Your qualified health care provider is more effective for You than the medication that is normally covered.

Exceptions for brand drugs may be approved because less costly equivalent alternatives are not available. If a lower cost equivalent brand, generic, or biosimilar becomes available as a preferred drug, only the preferred drug will be covered.

Drugs determined by our Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee to be deficient are excluded from the Formulary exceptions process.

New drugs to market that have not been reviewed by our Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee are excluded from the formulary exceptions process, and coverage, until reviewed for safety, efficacy, and uniqueness by our Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee.

The medication must be in a class of medications that is covered. For additional information about the prescription drug exceptions processes for drugs not included on Your plan’s Formulary, call the Pharmacy Customer Services number on Your ID Card.

For standard exception requests, We must make a determination and notify You and the prescribing physician no later than 72 hours following Our receipt of the request for exception. If We grant a standard exception request, We must provide coverage of the non-formulary drug for the duration of the prescription, including refills.

Expedited exception requests are appropriate for exigent circumstances, which means the person for whom the request is being made is suffering from a health condition that may seriously jeopardize their life, health, ability to regain maximum function, or the person is undergoing a current course of treatment using a non-formulary drug.

For expedited exception requests, We must make a determination and notify You and the prescribing physician no later than 24 hours following Our receipt of the request for exception.

If we grant an approval of an exception request, we will provide coverage until the authorization expires.

If you feel we have denied the non-formulary request incorrectly, you may ask us to submit the case for an external review by an impartial, third-party reviewer known as an Independent Review Organization (IRO). We must follow the IRO's decision. An IRO review may be requested by a member, member's representative, or prescribing provider by mailing, calling, or faxing a request for external review. You can find information on how to request an external review in your policy, by contacting us at the phone number listed on your ID card, or by logging in to the Member Hub at brighthealthcare.com/member.

For standard exception review of medical requests where the request was denied, the timeframe for review is 72 hours from when we receive the request.

For expedited exception review requests where the request was denied, the timeframe for review is 24 hours from when we receive the request. To request an expedited review for exigent circumstance, select the “Request for Expedited Review” option in the Request Form.

For additional information about the prescription drug exceptions processes for drugs not included on Your Plan’s Formulary, please contact the Pharmacy Customer Services number on Your ID Card.

Explanation of benefits (EOB).

An EOB is a statement an issuer sends the enrollee to explain what medical treatments and/or services it paid for on an enrollee’s behalf, the issuer’s payment, and the enrollee’s financial responsibility pursuant to the terms of the policy.

How do you know if We paid a claim?

Your doctor's office submits a claim for payment to Us after you receive care. If your provider is not submitting a claim on your behalf, you must send a completed claim form and an itemized bill to the address listed on your ID card.

After the claim is processed, We will provide an Explanation of Benefits (EOB) to you. We send this statement to explain what medical treatments and/or services were paid. It tells you how your claim was paid, including the amount that was paid and to whom it was paid. It’s simple and clear, so you can see what was submitted, what’s been paid and what you owe. EOBs are available for you to look at online at www.brighthealthcare.com.

Coordination of benefits.

Please note: Coordination of Benefits is not allowed for individual plans sold by Bright Health of North Carolina. The following language does not apply to plans sold by Bright Health of North Carolina.

When Does Coordination of Benefits Apply?

This Coordination of Benefits (COB) provision applies when a Covered Person has health care coverage under more than one Plan.

An important part of coordinating benefits is determining the order in which the plans provide benefits. The plan who provides benefits first is called the primary plan. The primary plan provides its full benefits as if there were no other plans involved. The other plans then become secondary. Further information about COB can be found in your policy.

Other Insurance Coverage - when the other plan is also with Us.

If you are covered by more than one of Our qualified health plans, you will receive the benefits of only one plan. You may choose the plan under which you will be covered. We will refund any premium received under the other plan. Any claims payments made by us under the plan you choose to cancel will be deducted from any such refund of premium.