邁向更佳大腸健康的5個步驟

您知道大腸癌是美國最常見癌症的一種形式嗎?25個美國人中有1人在一生中會受到影響。三月是大腸癌意識月,這時是尋找預防大腸癌同時提高整體健康的方法的理想時間。


1.) 多吃水果、蔬菜和全穀物,少吃肉類 對飲食的小幅調整可帶來很大的差異。根據美國癌症協會的調查,富含蔬菜、水果和全穀物的飲食可降低大腸或直腸癌。另一個明智之舉:限制紅肉和加工肉類的攝取,這些與患大腸癌的更大風險有關聯。


2.) 身體動起來 我們都聽說運動對心臟和體重都有好處。但是您知道嗎?研究顯示,經常運動的人與患大腸癌的降低風險之間存在關聯。同樣令人鼓舞的是:被診斷出患有大腸癌的定期運動者的存活率明顯較高。*1


3.) 保持健康體重 超重會增加患大腸癌的風險。根據美國國家癌症研究所的研究顯示,肥胖會使您患大腸癌的機率增加約30%。2如果您需要幫助減重,諮詢您的主治醫生 (PCP) 是一個很好的起點。*


4.) 限制飲酒-並戒煙 根據美國癌症協會調查,大腸癌與飲酒有關。如果您喝酒,女性請限於每天一杯,男性限於每天兩杯。吸煙與許多嚴重疾病之間的關聯由來已久,大腸癌也不例外。如果您在戒酒或戒煙方面需要任何幫助,請諮詢您的PCP。


5.) 遵循篩檢準則 即使不改變生活方式,您也可以做另一件事:接受篩檢!根據您的年齡、健康狀況和其他風險因素,您的醫生會推薦最適合您的篩檢。並且:如果您的醫生建議進行大腸鏡檢查,它可以做的不僅僅是偵測癌症而已。在手術過程中發現的息肉可以在它們有機會發展成癌症之前先予以去除。


如您所見,您可以做很多事情來幫助預防這種常見的癌症。


*1 https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/obesity/physical-activity-fact-sheet

*2 https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/obesity/obesity-fact-sheet


其他資料來源:https://www.cancer.org/cancer/colon-rectal-cancer/causes-risks-prevention/risk-factors.html https://www.cancer.org/latest-news/six-ways-to-lower-your-risk-for-colon-cancer.html

作者:Stephanie Sample

2021年3月10日

5 steps toward better colorectal health

Did you know colorectal cancer is one of the most common forms of cancer in the US? It will affect about 1 in 25 Americans in their lifetime. March is Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month, making it an ideal time to look at ways to prevent colorectal cancer and increase your overall health at the same time.


1.) Eat more fruits, veggies, and whole grains—and fewer meats Small tweaks to your diet may make a big difference. According to the American Cancer Society, diets high in vegetables, fruits, and whole grains have been linked to a lower risk of colon or rectal cancer. Another smart move: limit red and processed meats, which have been linked to a greater risk of colorectal cancer.


2.) Move your body We’ve all heard exercise is good for your heart and your weight. But did you know this? Studies have shown a link between reduced risk of colorectal cancer in people who exercise regularly. Also encouraging: regular exercisers who were diagnosed with a colorectal cancer had a notably higher survival rate. *1


3.) Maintain a healthy weight Being overweight can increase your risk of colon cancer. According to the National Cancer Institute, being obese increases your chances of getting colorectal cancer by about 30%.2 If you need help losing weight, your Primary Care Provider (PCP) is a great place to start. *


4.) Limit alcohol – and stop smoking Colorectal cancer has been linked to alcohol use, according to the American Cancer Society. If you drink alcohol, limit yourself to one drink per day for women and two for men. The connection between smoking and many serious conditions is long established, and colon cancer is no exception. Please talk to your PCP if you need any help quitting either drinking or smoking.


5.) Follow screening guidelines Even without lifestyle changes, there is another thing you can do: get your screenings! Depending on your age, health, and other risk factors, your doctor will recommend the screenings best for you. And check this out: if your doctor recommends a colonoscopy, it can do more than detect cancer. Polyps discovered during the procedure can be removed before they have a chance to develop into cancer.


As you can see, there is a lot you can do to help prevent this common cancer.


*1 https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/obesity/physical-activity-fact-sheet 

*2 https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/obesity/obesity-fact-sheet 


Additional sources: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/colon-rectal-cancer/causes-risks-prevention/risk-factors.html  https://www.cancer.org/latest-news/six-ways-to-lower-your-risk-for-colon-cancer.html 

Author: Stephanie Sample

March 10, 2021